My First WordPress Post!

Yes, it has taken me this long to get my act together and start a blog. After having parents, professors, friends, and my wife nag me for years about writing, I am finally going to tackle the unknown and get my feet wet in writing… With the goal of making some money while doing it.

It actually takes a certain degree of gumption to get in the pilot’s seat and start putting thoughts on… paper. It then takes an incredible amount of courage to put them on the internet. Why haven’t I started writing sooner? Well, let me explain:

I was afraid! I was afraid that I lacked the writing skills, the expertise, and the money to invest in something that had no real future. I had started a web site in 2008 as a side project, but the material I chose to cover proved controversial and conflicted with my job at the time. This drew undesirable attention, including from my superiors and oddly enough the government, so I opted to just bow out of the game and seek the average means of employment.

Well, this blog is aptly named “The Cut Lip.” Perhaps it should read “The Busted Lip,” but my last name is Cutlip so there it is. However, the intention is to start putting on paper my thoughts and economic adventures in this unruly world we live in — mostly out of frustration, but in an effort to connect with others like myself that have experienced adversity in today’s workplace. I want to be a motivational speaker. I want to write. I want to invest in real estate. I want to survive and thrive instead of just scraping by. This is a determined effort to lead others through inspiration and by example.

I have some writing experience from college, but that was five years ago. Three years ago I created that website I previously mentioned. Recently, however, my job prospects have been in the agriculture field as I have been attempting to get a business up and running to no avail. That doesn’t mean i am giving up my dream, I simply have to put that dream on the back burner until I have the funding to get it started.

So, what I am going to do from now until I get where I want to go, is do my best to inspire others to get up and DO what they want to do. We all have the power to change the course of our lives, at any time. We are all designed from birth with distinct talents and abilities for which the world will be grateful if we were only to recognize, develop, and utilize them. Writing and speaking happen to be two of my talents — but I need practice.

I want to dedicate the inauguration of this blogging period to my daughter, Kadence.

I sincerely want to make a profound, positive change in the world. The world keeps beating me to my knees in failure, but I must warn that no matter how distressed or bloody I may become in my battle, I will keep rising again and again in persistent determination. Many successful people have risen to great heights from lives of miserable failure, and I will be no exception. It is my deepest hope that my struggles might light the fire of motivation under someone — anyone at all… I want to inspire others to achieve their own greatness.

I want to inspire YOU.

Leave a Reply

